L'Association des jeunes de la rue

Programs

Made with Cascading Style Sheets

Valid CSS!

Valid HTML 4.01!

Foyer Notre Dame House

Emergency Shelter

Mandate

To provide safe and short-term housing, basic necessities, supportive counselling and a referral service which will encourage youth between 16-19 years of age to return home, remain in school and rebuild their lives.

Description

Foyer Notre Dame House is a fully bilingual program designed to assist homeless youth between the ages 16 to 19. Our goals are to assist each youth in achieving family reintegration, to undergo functional life skills training, to achieve vocational scholastic reintegration and to reach self-sufficiency and personal independence.

These goals are met by the young person's desire to change and their commitment to a comprehensive goal-oriented individualized program plan.

Criteria for Admission

Youth needing shelter must be deemed homeless and/or be in a crisis situation requiring emergency shelter. Youth who meet the criteria for services may present themselves at the shelter. They may also be referred by community agencies, parents or friends.

Top

Transitional Phase II

Mandate

To give a youth between 16 and 19 years of age the opportunity to graduate from high school in a structured and safe environment.

Description

The transitional program will be able to accommodate four (4) youths. Each individual will have their own furnished bedroom and use of computers and some special privileges (ex. curfew). They will be integrated with all our residential programs and will have access to staff 24/7. The length of stay depends on how far along the youth is in their schooling.

Criteria for admission

To access the Transitional program the youth must be deemed homeless and/or in a crisis situation requiring emergency shelter. If they want to remain in school, an assessment process is started to evaluate their eligibility to be transferred to the transitional program. The youth must be between 16 to 19 years old to qualify.

Top

Community Programs

Outreach

Mandate

To help alleviate absolute and relative homelessness in the City of Greater Sudbury.

[Photo d'une jeune sans-habris]

Description

The Community Outreach Program provides outreach services to men, women and youth who are homeless, or who are at risk of becoming homeless. The Outreach team is fully versatile and is comprised of men and women of Anglophone, Francophone and First Nations origins. Direct client services are provided which include referral to community resources, suicide intervention, immediate first aid, health support, and transportation to essential services such as emergency care, crisis prevention and intervention. Community Outreach also provides blankets, clothing and supplies to those in need.

Top

Cold Alert

Mandate

To make sure that no one perishes in the cold weather.

Description

Our vehicle patrols the City of Greater Sudbury's downtown core from 7 pm to 7 am when the temperature reaches −15°C and/or when a windchill of −20°C is projected.

Top

L'Association des jeunes de la rue

Programmes

Made with Cascading Style Sheets

Valid CSS!

Valid HTML 4.01!

Foyer Notre Dame House

Refuge d'urgence

Mandat

Offrir un gîte sécuritaire de courte durée, les services de base, du counselling informel et un service de référence et de soutien aux jeunes hommes et femmes.

Description

Foyer Notre Dame House se veut un programme bilingue à l'aide des jeunes personnes de 16 à 19 ans. Notre but est d'aider chaque jeune personne à réintégrer sa famille, à reprendre ses études ou un programme d'apprentissage et acquérir une autonomie fonctionnelle en vue d'atteindre l'indépendance et l'autosuffisance.

Pour atteindre ces buts, la jeune personne, avec le soutien d'un plan personnel compréhensif axé sur ces mêmes objectifs, doit démontrer le vouloir d'apporter un changement à son style de vie.

Critères d'admission

La personne en besoin de refuge doit rencontrer les critères de sans abri et/ou en état de crise. Les jeunes en besoin peuvent se présenter au Foyer. Les agences communautaires, les parents et ami(e)s de jeunes en besoin peuvent également faire demande au Foyer.

Haut

Transition/Phase II

Mandat

Donner à une jeune personne de 16 à 19 ans la chance de compléter ses études secondaire dans un milieu structuré et sécuritaire.

Description

Le programme de transition pourra acommoder quatre (4) jeunes. Chacun aura sa propre chambre à coucher et accès aux ordinateurs et certains privilèges (couvre-feu). Les individus seront intégrés à tous nos programmes existant et auront accès au personnel 24/7. La durée du séjour est d'aussi longtemps que les appuis scolaires sont requis.

Critères d'admission

Pour être admises au programme de transition, la jeune personne doit être jugée sans abri et/ou en état de crise nécessitant un abri d'urgence. Pour l'individu qui désir poursuivre ses études, il y aura un processus d'évaluation pour réviser son éligibilité à être transféré au programme de transition. La jeune personne doit être âgé de 16 - 19 ans pour qualifier.

Haut

Programmes Communautaires

Outreach

Mandat

Aider à améliorer la situation absolue et relative des sans-abri dans la ville du Grand Sudbury.

[Photo d'une jeune sans-habris]

Description

Le programme outreach fournit de l'aide aux femmes, hommes et aux jeunes personnes qui sont sans abri ou qui risque de le devenir. L'équipe consiste de personnes bilingues et d'origine anglaise, française et amérindienne. Le programme inclut un service de liens aux ressources communautaires, un programme axé sur la prévention au suicide, des premiers soins immédiats, de l'aide médicale, de la transportation aux services essentiels et prévention et d'intervention de crise. Le programme Outreach est un service communautaire qui fournit aussi des couvertures, des vêtements et des produits alimentaires.

Haut

Alerte au froid

Mandat

S'assurer que personne ne périsse dans le froid.

Description

Notre véhicule parcourt les rues du centre ville du Grand Sudbury à partire de 19 heures jusqu'à 7 heures quand la température est −15°C, et quand un refroidissement éoliene de −20°C est projetée.

Haut